The benefits of creating an account on our site are the ability to sign up for events, and to receive special news updates offers and deals before they are announced to the general public. Signing up for an account with Collected is not necessary to enjoy all the news and information on our site.
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Collected: Your Pop Culture Headquarters
Follow us on Twitter
Join our Mailing List

Stay up to date on all things Collected

Collected on Instagram

Follow Collected Comics & Games on Instagram.

    Michael’s Comics Reviews 08/10/16

    Hi, I’m Michael from Collected: Keller please enjoy my new frequent comic review column covering the hottest NEW comic titles each week. These are my opinion so if you want take them with a grain of salt. If you like what I do please let me know in the comments, thanks!

    Weekly Comic Book Reviews for 8/10/2016

    all star batmanAll*Star Batman #1
    Holy crap, who knew Scott Snyder still had it in him? A book centered on the villains he’s always wanted to write? How awesome is that?! With astonishing art from John Romita Jr., who is once again at the top of his game after a small slump on Superman bringing in some of his best work since his Spider-Man run this is a book not to be missed. As long as the art team stays this good, Snyder’s Batman will always be on my pull. To top it off Batman with a Chainsaw – need I say more?
    10/10

    actionAction Comics #961
    Dan Jurgens gives us more plot this time around and I personally couldn’t be happier than I am now! With stunning art from the latest in rotation, Stephen Segovia, a much needed improvement over Tyler Kirkham who sadly doesn’t mesh well with Zircher and Segovia. As well as a solid script, with a few bumps in the road Action Comics is the other Superman book you shouldn’t be missing, Do yourself a favor and pick it up this week!
    7.5/10

    avengers 13All New All-Different Avengers #13
    Mark Waid kicks into gear with his rendition of a troubled Vision not unlike the one we’re currently seeing in Tom King’s title. As the Vision embarks on a quest only an android such as him can embark on. With a twist that will potentially rock the avengers to the core. Also the art by Adam Kuberts can’t not be mentioned, a much needed improvement over his first issues and a welcome addition to such a darker story. If you’ve felt the avenger title’s been lacking in the depth it once had don’t worry it’s in good hands.
    8.0/10

    superwoman 1
    Superwoman #1

    The Potential underdog of DC Rebirth, if you’ve follow Phil Jimenez’s art wait till you see his writing. An action packed book with a twist that was kept secret all the way up to its release, how awesome is that? The art may seem a little dated, but honestly it fits the title well. An old school superman, or in this case woman. Not much else takes away from the story, and if this debut tells us anything Jimenez’s has a lot of cards up his sleeve.
    8.5/10

    hal 2Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #2
    Imagine a world where Robert Venditti was writing Green Lantern that was a mix of Geoff Johns as well as something new. Now imagine that’s the world we’re currently living in as HJGLC kicks it into high gear and gives us an amazing space opera with a diverse cast, I mean who knew Sinestro could still be a compelling villain? This is the green lantern book we deserve, thank god it’s here.
    9.0/10

    new super-man 2New Super-Man #2
    Yang’s attempt at writing a book without tons of editorial influences is going strong 2 issues in. With expressive art by Bogdanovic, Yang is able to aptly get across the cultural differences and boundaries well for this new Super-Man. Who knew a bully could be this interesting? Although a few dialogue choices may take you out of the story (do they really need to say dummy 20 times?) New Super-Man is a good read.
    7.0/10

    deathstoke rebirth 1Deathstroke #1
    A complicated beast, certainly better than the first series, but still cautiously optimistic. Christopher Priest known for his legendary or horrible Black Panther run depending on how you look at it gives us a Slade with a mission, is the mission compelling yet? I’m not so sure, but with art by Carlos Pagulayan known for the only good issues of convergence, I’m willing to give it a shot.
    6.0/10

    rd hood 1Red Hood and the Outlaws #1
    Whatever you’ve heard about the previous series, disregard it. Scott Lobdell has brought us a Jason Todd we can love, flaws and all. He also manages to bring in a Black Mask that rivals my enjoyment of Doug Moench and Kelley Jone’s. This is a hero who’s going deep undercover, the question is will he still be the same? I suggest you pick it up, or you’re going to be missing out on one of Rebirths top titles.
    9.0/10

    x-men 12
    All New X-Men #12

    After the atrocious forced cross over caused by the apocalypse wars, Hopeless and Bagley give us the X title we’ve been missing. A detailed much needed look at Warren and Laura’s relationship is given, and boy is it amazing. If you’ve been thinking about dropping this book, give it one more shot, it just might surprise you.
    7.5/10

    detective 938

     

    Detective Comics #938
    The title that might just be more epic than the main batman title, can you believe it? This story gets even better with every issue and might just be the most consistent rebirth title so far. Why hasn’t DC let Tynion right a main bat title before? With great art from secondary artist Alvaro Martinez Detective Comics looks great, and reads great. Besides who doesn’t like Clayface?
    9.0/10

    flash 4Flash #4
    Lightning strikes again, with this week’s flash. One of the few rebirth titles to come out of the gate running, no pun intended. Williamson continues to bring the book back into the forefront of everybody’s mind turning the flash into a quasi-team book without losing the voice of the Barry we all know and love. Fill in Artist Neil Googe is also a welcome addition, not as rough as the series regular, but still in the same vein if anything he’s a welcome addition to the coolest flash story in ages.
    8.5/10

    spider-an deadpool 8Spider-Man & Deadpool #8
    A brand new costume AND the creative team is back? It’s good to be a Spidey/pool fan, with it finally starting the patient zero story line and the reason why Peter Parker was killed? Sign me up, with gorgeous art and Joe Kelly’s quip’s Spider-Man & Deadpool is a must read.
    9.2/10

    wonder woman 4

     

     

     

    Wonder Woman #4
    Year One part 2 just goes to show Greg Rucka still has it in him to write a good wonder woman story. A tale we’ve seen yet altered to fit the current continuity crazy right? Although the constant switching between odd and even gets a tad annoying. I must say it’s a story well worth retelling as Wonder Woman digs up the lies of her past, and with gorgeous art by Nicola Scott what’s not to miss?
    8.5/10

    teen titans ogn

     

    Graphic Novel Review: Teen Titans Earth One Volume 2

    We’ve waited well over a year for this book but the real question is, did we actually need it in the first place? I’ll give it to Jeff Lemire for giving me an Earth One Sequel I can actually enjoy. Sorry not sorry Superman Earth One. For those of you who haven’t read the first volume I suggest you go read it now, as its home to astounding art by Terry Dodson and nice characterization by Jeff Lemire. This time around Andy Macdonald takes over for art and it’s basically a seamless transition from Terry Dodson. Although some of the coloring was off making some character’s look a tad different than usual in certain scenes it’s not too big of a deal. For those of you who thought the first volume was missing out on your fan favorite titans have no fear as more are introduced in mostly clever ways. If there’s one fault to be had about this second volume it’s the ending which seems to wrap up almost out of nowhere but that seems to be the fault of all Earth One books, not Jeff Lemire. For those looking for a good Teen Titans story and can’t wait for Percy’s Rebirth I suggest you check these volume’s out, get it before it’s gone!
    8.0/10

    One Response to Michael’s Comics Reviews 08/10/16